Friday, October 22

    Blue Devils sweep titles at CVC tournament

    - Advertisment -

    Independence’s boys’ and girls’ golf teams took home the prized hardware at their respective Chagrin Valley Conference preseason tournaments on Monday.

    Independence’s boys’ team finished with 343 strokes to win the Metro Division title at Pine Hills. Beachwood was second with 359.

    “It was a very good day,” said Independence coach Mike Marcinko. “Friday, we were down at Trinity and I thought we played well against some big schools and finished fourth there. Then to come back today on a tough course with the heat the way it was, and there was a little more pressure, the guys talked about it being the conference tournament, but collectively we rose to the occasion.”

    Mark Pillar shot a 75 to claim medalist honors at Pine Hills.

    Sam Coddington and Charlie DeCapua also placed among the top 10 with an 84 and an 87, respectively.

    A.J. Marcinko finished 12th with a 97 and Joe Spacagna finished 17th with an even 100. David Eichler shot a 103.

    Independence Girls Golf

    Emma Konopa shot a career-best 89 to lead the Independence girls to the Chagrin Division title at Punderson Golf Course.

    “Today on the course, my tee-offs definitely carried me throughout my round. Each hole, I had a nice view at my approach thanks to my drives,” Konopa said. “Another thing that worked well for me today was my mindset, imagining my shot, believing in my shot, and completing my shot. I’m very happy with how I individually performed today and proud that my team and I put it all together.”

    Independence graduated a group of three seniors, leaving a few big holes in the lineup.

    Konopa made the most of her opportunity on the course.

    “Being one of the oldest I knew I had to step up,” she said. “The three of them definitely left big shoes to fill. However, finishing third overall and winning as a team today was definitely a confidence booster for all of us. Today, my team and I just scratched the surface of what we are going to accomplish this season.”

    That career-best score didn’t come easily.

    Konopa overcame several trouble spots on the course and played her way out of the sand on several holes and now her confidence is sky-high.

    “Sand isn’t always my favorite spot to be at but when I did end up there I imagined my shot and performed it,” she said. “At times, the sand almost got the best of me but I came back with my putting and finished those holes out strong. My confidence for the rest of the season is definitely very high now. For our team being so young this year and having so much room to grow together is beyond exciting. The Blue Devils are definitely going to surprise a lot of people this year.”

    Molly McGreal and Hillary Esper also finished among the top 10 in the Chagrin Division. McGreal finished with a 90 while Esper carded a 94.

    Macey McGhee cracked 100 for the first time this season as she finished with a 99. Adriann Buyanski (107) and Bel Trombetta (111) also competed for the Blue Devils.


    Individual Results

    1. Mark Pillar (IND) 75
    2. James O’Neil (BEA) 78
    3. Matt Blumenthal (BEA) 79
    4. Sam Coddington (IND) 84
    5. Charlie DeCapua (IND) 87
    6. DJ Robinson (LW) 90
    7. Jack Rolando (TRI) 92
    8. Calvin Cackowski (WIC) 93
    9. Kaelib Graff (CH) 93
    10. Ryan Latkovich (WIC) 94
    11. AJ Levon (WIC) 94
    12. Noah Telisman (WIC) 97
    13. AJ Marcinko (IND) 97
    14. Jack Peters (TRI) 97
    15. Brody Tancak-Peshek (TRI) 98
    16. Ashten Sopko (LW) 98
    17. Nick Henson (WIC) 100
    18. Shane Young (BEA) 100
    19. Joey Spacagna (IND) 100
    20. Gabe Stoehr (WIC) 101
    21. Drew Riley (BEA) 102
    22. David Eichler (IND) 103
    23. Brady Pinter (CH) 108
    24. Jack Bohning (CH) 109
    25. Eric Dill (LW) 110
    26. Zack Keller (LW) 110
    27. Jonah Wolfe (BEA) 112
    28. Gabe Connor (BEA) 118
    29. Joey White (CH) 124
    30. Jacob Pitcole (LW) 139
    31. Andy Domzalski (CH) 141

    Team Scores

    1. Independence 343
    2. Beachwood 359
    3. Wickliffe 378
    4. Lutheran West 408
    5. Cuyahoga Heights 434


    Individual Results

    1. Ella Wong (HAW) 73
    2. Kate Peterson (HAW) 84
    3. Emma Konopa (IND) 89
    4. Cristina Joseph (CF) 89
    5. Molly McGreal (IND) 90
    6. Ali Holtz (CF) 91
    7. Callie Wabeke (LW) 92
    8. Hillary Esper (IND) 94
    9. Julia Colton (LW) 95
    10. Kerry Kelly (ORA) 98
    11. Macey McGhee (IND) 99
    12. Marley Gabriel (CF) 104
    13. Adriann Buyanski (IND) 107
    14. Madi Machado (CF) 107
    15. Ellie Conrad (CF) 108
    16. Julianna Pollard (HAW) 110
    17. Bel Trombetta (IND) 111
    18. Tess Kemelhar (ORA) 111
    19. Milly Fischer (CF) 115
    20. Ella Walden (LW) 116
    21. Emma Collins (LW) 120
    22. Kylie Leska (ORA) 124
    23. Ronetta Bell-Moore (ORA) 137
    24. Marina Caporossi (ORA) 141
    25. Virginia Cohn (ORA) 144

    Team Scores

    1. Independence 372
    2. Chagrin Falls 391
    3. Lutheran West 423
    4. Orange 470
    5. Hawken DNS
    Steve Hare
    The creator and publisher of, Hare has covered high school sports in Northeast Ohio since 1997. He began as a correspondent for the Lake County News Herald, where he contributed until 2011, primarily covering high school football and wrestling. In 1999, Hare began writing for, a member of the network of high school and college sports web sites. He focuses on covering Notre Dame football recruiting. was created in 2004 and was a member of the network until 2012. The site's original purpose was to cover Ohio high school football and recruiting news but since has grown to cover all sports and to provide sports information services to high school athletic programs and individual teams. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.


    Hawken wins Badger Invitational

    Three Hawken golfers finished among the top five individual placers to lead the Hawks to the team title at the 2017 Badger Invitational on Tuesday.