Monday, May 20

    Independence track teams perform well at Beachwood

    - Advertisment -

    BEACHWOOD—Independence’s track teams performed well in finishing among the top five at the 2024 Beachwood Invitational.

    The Blue Devils placed third in the boys’ division and fifth in the girls.

    Matt Wisniewski and Casey Adams both claimed individual event titles.

    Wisniewski raced to a win in the 200-meter dash in 22.94 seconds and Adams won the girls’ triple jump with a best leap of 34 feet, 6 inches, and the high jump with a best jump of 4 feet, 10 inches.

    Independence’s scorers included James Kitagawa (7th, 3200, 11:15.33), Dylan Wang (8th, 3200, 11:35.73), Jack Korinek (5th, 110 hurdles, 17.76; 4th, 300 hurdles, 43.81), Elyse Grill (7th, discus, 84-10), Jack Robson (4th, shot put, 39-0 ½), Alex Waski (5th, discus, 102-8), Owen Szymanski (7th, discus, 100-2), Carter Howard (6th, 110 hurdles, 17.91), Stephen Mlynarczyk (3rd, high jump, 6-1), Rocco Ressler (6th, high jump, 5-4), Adams (6th, long jump, 15-1 ¼), Avery Vilcheck (3rd, high jump, 4-6), Wisniewski (3rd, 100, 11.34), Landon Jatsek (3rd, triple jump, 35-6), and Alberta Moreal (6th, 300 hurdles, 54.61).

    Independence’s boys’ 4×100-meter relay team placed third in 45.45 and the Blue Devils also scored in the girls’ 4×800 and 4×400-meter relays. The 4×8 squad placed seventh in 12:53.52 and the 4×400 team placed eighth in 4:58.20. The Blue Devils also clinched a win in the girls’ 4×100 throwers’ relay (59.24) and fifth in the boys’ 4×100 throwers’ relay (57.84).

    Tyler Miller, Manoli Fourtounis, Wisniewski, and Korinek ran in the boys’ 4×100 and Hayden Matalik, Waski, Szymanski, and Robson competed in the throwers’ relay.

    Marissa Taylor, Lindsay Lieu, Kierra Donovan, and Taylor Pronsinski competed in the girls’ throwers’ relay. Gianna Carlucci, Ella Sliwinski, Emily Richards, and Alex Polcar ran in the girls’ 4×800 and Ellie Coddington, Carlucci, Richards, and Moreal ran in the 4×400.




    Most Read

    Independence adds three to Hall of Fame

    Independence on Friday will announce the three most recent additions to its Athletics Hall of Fame.