Wednesday, September 28

    Independence wins CVC Metro Division title

    - Advertisment -

    CONCORD TOWNSHIP–Independence locked up the Chagrin Valley Conference Metro Division title by winning the league’s postseason tournament at Quail Hollow on Monday.

    The Blue Devils, who also won the preseason tournament and finished undefeated in match play, carded a 328 to beat second-place Beachwood by 32 strokes.

    “It was great to win the conference,” said Independence coach Ryan MacRaild, who was named Coach of the Year. “This is a very talented group of golfers. They shoot well, pick each other up, and challenge each other in training. We are just very fortunate to have four guys that can score in the 40/80 or lower.”

    Mark Pillar carded a 76 to win medalist honors at the postseason tournament. He also accumulated 248 CVC points, based on his performance at the pre- and postseason tournaments and match play, to edge Beachwood’s James O’Neill for Metro Division MVP honors. O’Neill finished with 247 CVC points.

    “Mark is as steady as they come,” MacRaild said. “He wasn’t feeling great at the CVCs but still came through with our low score. He is a true technician of the game and really is the most reliable golfer on the squad. He has a bright future in the game.”

    Liam Jenks and Sam Coddington finished third and fourth with an 80 and an 84, respectively. Charlie DeCapua placed eighth with a score of 88 and Joey Spacagna was 13th with a 95.

    “It’s crazy to think that we really could have shot 15 strokes better today but we really could have,” MacRaild said. “My hope is over the next few days and weeks, we sharpen it up and get everyone shooting closer to their averages. It’s a great group of golfers that have a very good chance to win some hardware in the postseason if they put it all together.”

    • Photo Gallery

    Team Scores

    1. Independence 328
    2. Beachwood 360
    3. Wickliffe 364
    4. Lutheran West 391
    5. Cuyahoga Heights 437

    Postseason Tournament Scores

    1. Mark Pillar (IND) 76
    2. James O’Neil (BEA) 78
    3. Liam Jenks (IND) 80
    4. Sam Coddington (IND) 84
    5. Colin Casey (WIC) 85
    6. AJ Levon (WIC) 86
    7. Kaelib Graaf (CH) 87
    8. Charlie DeCapua (IND) 88
    9. Ryan Latkovich (WIC) 88
    10. Eric Dill (LW) 89
    11. Ray Pavlik (LW) 89
    12. Ethan Malek (BEA) 89
    13. Joey Spacagna (IND) 95
    14. Gavin Lappen (BEA) 96
    15. Jonah Wolfe (BEA) 97
    16. Trey Kemper (LW) 98
    17. Lucius Venditti (BEA) 104
    18. Jack Bohning (CH) 105
    19. Nick Henson (WIC) 105
    20. Noah Telisman (WIC) 108
    21. Tyler Wheaton (CH) 112
    22. Anthony Coray (LW) 115
    23. JJ Hughes (LW) 133
    24. Kaden Johnston (CH) 133
    25. Nate Mandich (CH) 170



    Steve Hare
    The creator and publisher of, Hare has covered high school sports in Northeast Ohio since 1997. He began as a correspondent for the Lake County News Herald, where he contributed until 2011, primarily covering high school football and wrestling. In 1999, Hare began writing for, a member of the network of high school and college sports web sites. He focuses on covering Notre Dame football recruiting. was created in 2004 and was a member of the network until 2012. The site's original purpose was to cover Ohio high school football and recruiting news but since has grown to cover all sports and to provide sports information services to high school athletic programs and individual teams. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.


    Kirtland, Independence finish among top four at Badger Invitational

    Kirtland finished in third place and Independence right behind the Hornets in fourth at the 2018 Badger Invitational at Pleasant Hills Golf Course on Tuesday. The Hornets shot a 350 while the Blue Devils finished with 362 strokes.