Wednesday, May 18

    Kirtland earns 15 all-district honors

    - Advertisment -

    Kirtland recently advanced to play in its ninth state semifinal game in the last 10 seasons and on Monday, 15 of the Hornets earned all-district honors.

    “These kids have worked very hard and deserve all the awards they get,” said Kirtland coach Tiger LaVerde, who also was recognized as the Division V Coach of the Year. “They’ve done a great job. Last year they did a fantastic job going 15-0 and a lot of them are back this year.”

    Seniors Mason Sullivan and Joey Grazia both earned the highest district award possible as Sullivan was named Offensive Player of the Year and Grazia took home the Defensive Player of the Year award.

    “It means a lot to me to see all the hard work that I’ve put in the past four years to pay off,” Grazia said. “I can’t just take all the credit though. A lot of it goes to my coaches that put me into positions to be successful and giving us good game plans that allow us to be successful. Also my teammates, the job they do and what they do allows me to excel in my spot and to be the one to receive this award means a lot. It’s great to have the individual success, but the success of the team means the most to me and hopefully, our hard work as a team can pay off in the weeks moving forward.”

    Offensively, Sullivan has collected 1,186 rushing yards on 125 carries, good for an average of 9.5 yards per rush, and he has scored 17 touchdowns.

    “This means a lot to me,” Sullivan said of the Player of the Year honor. “I’ve been working really hard to be where I am and the hard work is paying off.”

    Joining Sullivan on the first-team offense were linemen Kristian Grman and George Prusock, athlete Lima Powers and kicker Mario Rodin.

    Defensive lineman Luke Gogolin, linebackers Carson Andonian and Mason Rus, defensive back Anthony DeMarco and punter Gage Sullivan also earned first-team all-district honors.

    Danny Davidson, Nick Schwartz, Brad Davis and Joseph Coleman earned honorable mention recognition.

    Steve Hare
    The creator and publisher of, Hare has covered high school sports in Northeast Ohio since 1997. He began as a correspondent for the Lake County News Herald, where he contributed until 2011, primarily covering high school football and wrestling. In 1999, Hare began writing for, a member of the network of high school and college sports web sites. He focuses on covering Notre Dame football recruiting. was created in 2004 and was a member of the network until 2012. The site's original purpose was to cover Ohio high school football and recruiting news but since has grown to cover all sports and to provide sports information services to high school athletic programs and individual teams. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

    Most Read

    Live Video: University at North will live stream Eastlake North's non-conference football game against visiting University School on Friday, Aug. 4.