Wednesday, December 8

    Independence’s Alana Nowak wins CVC title

    - Advertisment -

    PERRY—Independence sophomore Alana Nowak won the Chagrin Valley Conference Valley Division title on Saturday at the Perry Outdoor YMCA.

    Nowak finished the race in 21:23, 19 seconds ahead of Cardinal’s Lily Ayer. Nowak placed sixth as a freshman.

    The Blue Devils placed fourth as a team.

    Nowak and Gabby McGreevy both earned first-team All-CVC honors after finishing among the top eight in the race.

    McGreevy was seventh in 22:24.

    Sara Luciano (25:49), Julia Deblock (26:57), Sonia Sajovie (27:09), Lucy Biliunas (27:44), and Stephanie Laskowski (28:38) also ran for the Blue Devils.

    Independence’s boys’ team placed sixth with Kyle McGovern locking in first-team All-CVC honors.

    McGovern placed eighth in 18:33.

    James Kitagawa (20:04), Carter Peters (20:18), Sam Crooks (20:34), Brian Angyal (21:37), Robby Somrak (22:19), and Dylan Wang (23:22) also competed for Independence.


    Haley Adams
    Haley Adams is a 2016 graduate of Cardinal High School. She is currently in her third year at Hiram College with a major in Communications and a minor in Writing. Haley, a three-sport standout at Cardinal, has participated in many athletic events at Hiram and plans to become a sports broadcaster.

    Most Read

    Early Bird Invitational finish line highlights

    Video highlights of the top finishers from the 2018 Berkshire Early Bird Invitational at Kent State University's Geauga Campus on Saturday, Aug. 25, 2018.